For over 25 years, Europe has funded the Erasmus programme, which has enabled over 3 million European students to spend part of their studies in another higher education institution (HEI) elsewhere in Europe. Erasmus+ now opens up these opportunities to students and staff from other parts of the world. Under international credit mobility, a HEI in a Partner Country can send its students, doctoral candidates or staff to a partner HEI in a Programme Country, and vice versa. Students or doctoral candidates are able to study abroad for a limited period of 3 to 12 months for which credits are obtained. After the mobility phase, the students return to their sending institution to complete their studies. Similarly, staff can spend a teaching and/or training period abroad for up to 2 months.
The Erasmus+ programme refers to 'Programme Countries' and 'Partner Countries'. Programme Countries are those countries participating fully in the Erasmus+ programme. To do so, they have set up a National Agency and contribute financially to the programme. The 33 Programme Countries are: • The 28 EU Member States, and; • Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey. Partner Countries are all the other countries in the world, grouped together in different regions. Not all Partner Countries are eligible for international credit mobility. Switzerland, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, the Vatican City State, as well as Iran, Iraq, Yemen and the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates) are not eligible for international credit mobility.
The budget available for mobility between Programme and Partner Countries is divided between different regions. The different regions of the world are prioritised, meaning that some regions benefit from larger budget envelopes, funding more mobilities.
The regions with the biggest budgets include the EU's neighbouring countries (East and South), Asia and Central Asia, and the Western Balkans. The regions with smaller budgets include Latin America, African, Caribbean and Pacific countries, the industrialised Americas and industrialised Asia, and South Africa.
Participating organisations involved in the mobility project assume the following roles and tasks:
•    Applicant organisation from a Programme Country: in charge of applying for the mobility project, signing and managing the grant agreement and reporting. The applicant can be a consortium coordinator: leading a mobility consortium of partner organisations of the same country aimed at organising any type of student and staff mobility.
•    Sending organisation: in charge of selecting students/staff and sending them abroad. This also includes grant payments (for those in Programme Countries), preparation, monitoring and recognition related to the mobility period.
•    Receiving organisation: in charge of receiving students/staff from abroad and offering them a study/traineeship programme or a programme of training activities, or benefiting from a teaching activity.
•    Intermediary organisation: this is an organisation active in the labour market or in the fields of education, training and youth work in a Programme Country. It may be a partner in a national mobility consortium, but is not a sending organisation. Its role may be to share and facilitate the administrative procedures of the sending higher education institutions and to better match student profiles with the needs of enterprises in case of traineeships and to jointly prepare participants.

For mobility between Programme and Partner Countries, only higher education institutions from Programme Countries can apply and administer the payments for inbound and outbound mobility.
The sending and receiving organisations, together with the students/staff, must have agreed on the activities to be undertaken by the students - in a 'Learning Agreement' - or by staff members - in a 'Mobility Agreement' - prior to the start of the mobility period. These agreements define the target learning outcomes for the learning period abroad, specify the formal recognition provisions and list the rights and obligations of each party. When the activity is between two higher education institutions (student mobility for studies and staff mobility for teaching), an 'inter-institutional agreement' has to be in place between the sending and the receiving institutions before the exchanges can start. By signing the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE), higher education institutions commit to provide all the necessary support to mobile participants, including linguistic preparation. To support them, online linguistic support is being gradually implemented in the course of the Programme for all long-term mobility activities between Programme Countries lasting two months and longer. It is made available by the European Commission to eligible participants to assess their foreign language competences and to offer, where necessary, the most appropriate language learning before and/or during mobility (for more details, see Annex I of this Guide). Partner Country higher education institutions are not eligible to sign the ECHE, therefore details of the linguistic support offered to mobile participants should be made explicit in the interinstitutional agreement.


Contact information
Contact person – TNEU Erasmus+ Institutional Coordinator
 Nataliia Strelbitska
PhD, Assoc. Prof.,
Head of the International Cooperation Department
Ternopil National Economic University
11 Lvivska str., Build. №1,
46020 Ternopil, Ukraine

TNEU presentation

TNEU presentation [2.05 Mb] (завантажень: 203)

Student Handbook

Student Handbook